(719) 328-1616

128 S. Tejon St Ste 410
Colorado Springs, CO 80903
 (Map to Office)

Our Blog

Printer-friendly version

For charges on or after October 1, 2013.

Any acts involving marijuana remains an offense under Federal law. Colorado allows for the use of medical and recreational marijuana in limited circumstances.

Colorado Revised Statute          
C.R.S. 18-18-406 (1)
Sale, Transfer, or Dispensing of Marijuana or Marijuana Concentrate to a Minor
 
Offense Level Possible Prison/Jail Time Aggravated Fine
C.R.S. 18-18-406(1)(a) More than 2.5 pounds of marijuana or more than 1 pound of marijuana concentrate level 1 drug felony 8 years mandatory -32 years   $5,000 - $1 Million
C.R.S. 18-18-406(1)(b) More than 6 ounces to 2.5 pounds marijuana or more than 3 ounces to 1 pound of marijuana concentrate level 2 drug felony 4-8 years 8-16 years $3,000-$750,000
C.R.S. 18-18-406(1)(c) More than 1 ounce to 6 ounces of marijuana or more than 1/2 ounce to 3 ounces of marijuana concentrate  level 3 drug felony 2-4 years 4-6 years $2,000 - $500,000
C.R.S. 18-18-406(1)(d) Up to 1 ounce of marijuana or up to up to 1/2 ounce of marijuana concentrate level 4 drug felony 6 months to 1 year 1-2 years $1,000 - $100,000
  See limited exceptions as provided in Colorado's Constitutional amendment for medical marijuana in our guides.        
C.R.S. 18-18-406(2)(a)(I) Process or Manufacture Marijuana or Marijuana Concentrate, or Allowing Such Activity on Controlled Premises        
C.R.S. 18-18-406(2)(a)(I) Knowingly or allowing on land controlled, the process or manufacture or marijuana or marijuana concentrate, without being licensed to conduct such activity level 3 drug felony 2-4 years    
  See limited exceptions as provided in Colorado's Constitutional amendments for medical and recreational marijuana in our guides        
C.R.S. 18-18-406(2)(I) Dispensing, Selling, Distributing, or Possessing With Intent Without Being Properly Licensed        
C.R.S. 18-18-406(2)(b)(I) Knowingly dispense, sell, distribute, or possess with intent to manufacture dispense, sell, or dispense marijuana or marijuana concentrate, or attempt, induce, attempt to induce, or conspire to do these actions        
C.R.S. 18-18-406(2)(b)(III)(A) More than 50 pounds or marijuana or more than 25 pounds of marijuana concentrate level 1 drug felony 8 years mandatory -32 years   $5,000 - $1 Million
C.R.S. 18-18-406(2)(b)(III)(B) More than 5 pounds to 50 lbs of marijuana or more than 2.5 to 25 pounds of marijuana concentrate    level 2 drug felony 4-8 years 8-16 years $3,000-$750,000
C.R.S. 18-18-406(2)(b)(III)(C) More than 12 ounces to 25 pounds of marijuana or more than 6 ounces to 25 pounds of marijuana concentrate level 3 drug felony 2-4 years 4-6 years $2,000-$500,000
C.R.S. 18-18-406(2)(b)(III)(D) More than 4 ounces to 12 ounces of marijuana or more than 2 ounces to 6 ounces of marijuana concentrate level 4 drug felony 6 months-1 year 1-2 years $1,000-$100,000
C.R.S. 18-18-406(2)(b)(III)(E) 4 ounces or less of marijuana or 2 ounces or less of marijuana concentrate level 1 drug misdemeanor 6-18 months   $500-$5,000
C.R.S. 18-18-406(5)(c) Transferring or dispensing more than 1 ounce but less than 2 ounces to an adult over 21 for no remuneration is possession drug petty offense     up to $100
  See limited exceptions as provided in Colorado's Constitutional amendments for medical and recreational marijuana in our guides        
C.R.S. 18-18-406(3) Cultivation, Growing or Producing Marijuana Plants, or Allowing on Land or Premises Controlled        
C.R.S. 18-18-406(3)(a) More than 30 marijuana plants level 3 drug felony 2-4 years 4-6 years $2,000-$500,000
C.R.S. 18-18-406(3)(b) More than 6 but less than 30 marijuana plants level 4 drug felony 6 months-1 year 1-2 years $1,000-$100,000
C.R.S. 18-18-406(3)(c) Not more than 6 marijuana plants level 1 drug misdemeanor 6-18 months $1,000-$100,000 $500-$5,000
  See limited exceptions as provided in Colorado's Constitutional amendments for medical and recreational marijuana in our guides        
C.R.S. 18-18-406(4) & (5) Possession        
C.R.S. 18-18-406(4)(a) More than 12 ounces of marijuana or more than 3 ounces of marijuana concentrate level 4 drug felony 6 months-1 year 1-2 years $1,000-$100,000
C.R.S. 18-18-406(4)(b) More than 6 ounces up to 12 ounces of marijuana or less than 3 ounces or marijuana concentrate   level 1 drug misdemeanor 6-18 months   $500-$5,000

C.R.S. 18-18-406(4)(c)

More than 2 ounces to 6 ounces of marijuana level 2 drug misdemeanor 0-12 months   $50-$750
C.R.S. 18-18-406(5)(a)(I) 2 ounces or less of marijuana drug petty offense     up to $100
18-18-406(5)(b)(I) Openly and publicly displays, consumes, or uses 2 ounces or less of marijuana  drug petty offense 24 hours public service   up to $100
18-18-406(5)(b)(II) Openly and publicly displays, consumes, more than 2 ounces of marijuana or any marijuana concentrate  Deemed possession as above      
18-18-406(5)(c) Transferring or dispensing more than 1 ounces but less than 2 ounces to an adult over 21 for no remuneration is possession drug petty offense     up to $100

Charged with a crime? Black & Graham can help. Free consultation

(719) 328-1616

Click for the BBB Business Review of this Attorneys & Lawyers - Criminal in Colorado Springs CO

Find B&G On

Facebook icon Google+ icon